This is the "Home" page of the "PBA Music Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PBA Music Resources   Tags: articles, books, how-to, music research  

Help for music history and literature studies.
Last Updated: May 15, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.pba.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Access to Journals

PBA E-Journal Portal
Lists over 40,000 journals available to PBA Library users, whether print or online.
Search by title or browse by subject.

 

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have a book or article that you are looking for, we can have the item sent to us from another library that does. Just complete the appropriate form below:

 

Understanding Call Numbers and LC Classification

The books in the PBA Library are arranged according to the Library of Congress system.  Most music-related books fall in one of these categories:

M  -- Music

ML -- Literature on Music

MT -- Musical Instruction and Study

For a one-page explanation of call numbers, refer to this web page adapted for PBA from the UC Berkeley Music Library.

For a more detailed breakdown, showing how the numbers that follow the initial letters are assigned, look at the Guides to Ranges of Numbers created by the Music Library at Indiana University.

 

Important Reference Works

Cover Art
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Call Number: REF ML100 .N28 2001
ISBN: 9780195170672
This is the core music reference -- 29 thick volumes packed full of information on musical history, composers, artists and more. (Also available as part of Oxford Music Online.)

Cover Art
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Call Number: ML 105.B16 1984
ISBN: 0028724151
Contains 13,000 concise biographies including life histories and critical insights.

Cover Art
Collected editions, historical series & sets & monuments of music - George R. Hill, Norris L. Stephens
Call Number: REF ML113 .H55 1997
ISBN: 0914913220
Publication Date: 1997
Inventories over 8,000 historically important collected editions of music. It seeks exhaustive coverage for numbered monumental sets and composers’ collected editions, and gives complete listings for many musicologically significant publishers’ series and anthologies.

 

Music Research Databases

  • Music Index
    ►MUSIC & MUSICIANS◄ A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature from 1952 to present, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 470 periodicals, as as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals.
  • Oxford Music Online
    ►MUSIC & MUSICIANS◄ Provides excellent introductions to and overviews of musicians, compositions, styles and other topics in music. Includes the content of Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the Grove Dictionary of Opera, the Grove Dictionary of Jazz, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music.
  • Credo Reference: Music
    Includes:
    Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Media, Industry and Society
    Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Performance and Production
    The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music
    The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
    The Harvard Dictionary of Music
    The New Penguin Dictionary of Music
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
    The definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts: a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
  • Academic Search Complete
    ►ALL SUBJECTS◄ A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • ProQuest Central
    ►ALL SUBJECTS◄ This service offers a family of databases using a powerful, but easy-to-use search package. For many topics you will find enough full-text articles to meet your need without going anywhere else. For comprehensive research, this is an excellent starting point. The PBA ProQuest subscriptions include Research Library, ABI-INFORM, Education Periodicals, ProQuest NewsStand, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Psychology Journals, and ProQuest Religion.
  • JSTOR -- scholarly journal backfiles
    ►SCHOLARLY JOURNAL BACKFILES◄ Includes archives of 912 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. It provides a back run from the journal's inception, but not the current issues. The embargo period varies from six months up to five years from the present.

Resources for Music

  • NAXOS Music Library  
      
      
    Rating
    The NAXOS Music Library consists of over 500,000 music tracks that can be listened to online.
  • NAXOS Jazz Library  
      
      
    Rating
    The Jazz companion to the NAXOS Music Library offers over 30,000 tracks of jazz from over 3,000 CDs. Over 500 jazz artists are represented.
  • National Jukebox  
      
      
    Rating
    Historical sound recordings from the Library of Congress.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip