This is the "Persistent Links -- How To Find Them" page of the "Persistent Links" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Persistent Links   Tags: bibliography, citations, research  

This is a guide to finding and using links that will provide access to database content (articles, ebooks, etc). Persistent links should be used when posting to eCollege, email or syllabi.
Last Updated: Nov 2, 2010 URL: http://libraryguides.pba.edu/persistentlinks Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Persistent Links -- How To Find Them Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How To Find The URL You Need

Many library databases actually have a proxied persistent URL ready for you to copy and paste into your document.

Below you will find step-by-step instructions on how to locate these links in some of our main databases.

If you do not see http://proxy.pba.edu/login?url= at the beginning of the links below, remember that you will need to prepend it to your link (place before) for off-campus access.

 

EBSCO "Permalinks"

     

    From your list of citations:

1. click on the article title
2. click on the  Detailed Record link - left column
3. left click on Permalink link/icon in the right column
4. highlight the link that appears under "permalink" to the left of the icon
5. right click and copy
6. paste link to your document of choice

If you are unable to access the Permalink with the instructions above, simply email the document to yourself. The correct link will be clearly labeled in the email you receive.
 

 

ProQuest "Durable Links"

From your list of citations

1. Click on article title
2. Click on “Copy link” in the yellow options bar 
3. When new window appears copy the entire URL
4. Paste link to your document of choice  

The Document URL is also available at the bottom of the citation screen.

If article is PDF only, you must use the “Copy link” placed above the pdf article, above the “tools” area.

 

Wilson "Persistent Links"

From your list of citations

1. Click on article title
2. Scroll down & find Persistent URL
3. Click either HTML or PDF, then click on allow access
4. The URL will be copied to the clipboard
5. Click ok
6. Paste link to document in Notepad
7. Delete actual citation info (such as author, title, etc through pagination) that appears at the end of the link
8. Copy and paste remaining link to document of choice

Do take extra care to verify that this link gives access to the fulltext of the article as arriving at the persistent link for this database can be tricky. 

 

Find "Permanent Links" in other databases & convert to proxied links

  JSTOR

  From your list of citations

1. Click on article title
2. Scroll to the bottom of the page
3. Look for Stable URL listed after the citation info
4. Copy & paste the provided Stable URL
5. Prepend the PBA proxy info:         http://proxy.pba.edu/login?url=
6. Paste proxied link to document of choice 

 

Persistent Links or URLS - What Are They?

Links                 A persistent link or URL is a web address 
          
that will consistently point to a specific information
       source such as an article or other document in a full-text
    library database. The purpose of this guide is to help bothh
  faculty and students locate or create the url that will be usable both on and off-campus. Sometimes the process can be frustrating. We hope the instructions you find here will make it easier for you.

 

Here Is The Issue Or The Assignment

You need to post the link to an article or other document in your eCollege webliography section, in a reading list or in a syllabus.

Problem
: The url you used doesn’t get you there the next day or even a few hours later.

Question: Why is this and What do you do?
You probably used the URL you copied from your browser web address.
That url is only for the session you are in.
You need to find or create a url that is persistent.
Check the boxes below and to your left to find out how to find and/or create a good proxied url.

Problem: The link you now have, when tested off-campus, requires a PBA login.
If you found your article in one of the library databases, there is no way around the login requirement if you are off-campus. 
On campus, access seems direct, but, even then, you are being authenticated because of your IP address.

If you need any assistance locating or creating a persistent link, please contact the library. See how in the far right column on this page.

 

Basic Procedures for Recognizing & Creating the Correct Link

  1. Locate an article, ebook or other publication in one of the Library databases.
  2. Within the article, capture the persistent link (also called by other names--see instructions for each of the major databases in boxes to the left.)"
  3. If the link doesn't contain PBA proxy information that looks like this: http://proxy.pba.edu/login?url=, please prepend it to the link.
  4. This new proxied link is what should be used in eCollege or other documents where students are accessing library documents from off-campus.
  5. Test your new link from off-campus to make insure correct access. When opening this link, users will be asked to log in with a PBA username and password. This is as it should be. Only one login per session will be required.

Example:  

Below is a critical essay from Gale's Literature Resource Center (database)

Source Citation
Harwood, Larry D. "Lewis's Screwtape Letters: the Ascetic Devil and the Aesthetic God." Mythlore 24.2 (2004): 24+. Literature Resource Center. Web. 14 Sept. 2010.

Document URL - (this link is listed at the bottom of the LRC database record--it will work on campus but not off campus)
http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE%7CA149176343&v=2.1&u=west87348&it=r&p=LitRC&sw=w

Now prepend http://proxy.pba.edu/login?url= to the persistent link/Document URL above
     
Resulting Proxied URL: http://proxy.pba.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE%7CA149176343&v=2.1&u=west87348&it=r&p=LitRC&sw=w
 

Tip: You may have to paste the proxy and document url into Notepad to get rid of any html code and to make the result all one connected link.

 

Questions??????

Please Contact us . . .

YOU

ARE WHY WE ARE HERE!!

 

How and When

Service Hours:
Warren Library
Mon - Thu 7:30 am - midnight
Fri 7:30 am - 5 pm
Sat 9:30 am - 6 pm
Sun 2 pm - midnight

Main Warren Library:
(561) 803-2226

PBA Librarians available - Come in, call, or schedule an appointment
Mon-Thu - 8 am-9 pm
Fri 8-5 pm
Sat 9 am-6 pm
Main service desk:
(561) 803-2240
Consultation center:
(561) 803-2227 (may have to leave msg)

To contact us by email or chat

Use ASKaLibrarian

Email - 24/7
Chat  - Sun-Thu 10 AM - Midnight
              Fri-Sat    10 AM - 5 PM 

Your email comes directly to your PBA Librarian.
If you choose to chat, a librarian in Florida (sometimes your PBA Librarian) will assist you in the use of PBA Library resources.

 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip